Lee named AACC Award of Excellence triple-finalist

President, faculty, staff & industry partner presented with honors at convention in Chicago

AACC 2016 Annual Convention
Lee College was recognized at the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Annual Convention, held April 11, 2016, in Chicago, for being an Awards of Excellence finalist in three categories. Pictured, from left: Dr. Charlene Dukes, chairwoman of the AACC Board of Directors; Vera Walker, student support adviser; Dr. Cathy Kemper-Pelle, vice president of Learning; Dr. Daria Willis, dean of Academic Studies; Dr. Dennis Brown, president; Paul Guilfoyle, ExxonMobil North American Growth Project; Treva Brown-Askey, chairwoman of Developmental Education; Dr. Christina Ponce, vice president of Student Success, Workforce & Resource Development; DeDe Griffith, director of Student Success; Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, president and CEO of the AACC; Connie Tilton, ExxonMobil Baytown Area Public and Government Affairs; and Debi Jordan, executive director of the Center for Workforce and Community Development.

BAYTOWN, TX — Lee College received national recognition as a 2016 American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Award of Excellence finalist in three categories: Exemplary Board/CEO, Faculty Innovation and Outstanding College/Corporate Partnership.

Nearly 1,200 community colleges are members of the AACC and eligible for the Awards of Excellence. Finalists and winners for 2016 were presented with their awards in April at the association’s Annual Convention in Chicago.

The Exemplary Board/CEO award recognized the collaboration and working relationship between Pres. Dr. Dennis Brown and the Board of Regents for promoting effectiveness in governance. Treva Brown-Askey, chairwoman of Developmental Education, was a finalist in the Faculty Innovation category for demonstrating leadership in the development and implementation of a campus program that had a positive impact on the learning experience for students. The Outstanding College/Corporate Partnership category recognized the collaboration between Lee College and ExxonMobil for demonstrating success in advancing the mission of the institution, economic prosperity of the community and learning excellence.

Lee College won the AACC Award of Excellence for Student Success in 2015 for its work to engage the entire campus and community in creating a college-going culture that ensures a successful student experience from high school through higher education. Lee College was also one of four national finalists for the 2015 Award of Excellence in the Exemplary Board/CEO category.

Lee College offers more than 100 associate degree and certificate programs, as well as non-credit workforce and community education courses, that prepare its diverse student body for advanced higher education; successful entry into the workforce; and a variety of in-demand careers. With the main campus and McNair Center located in Baytown, Texas, and a satellite center in nearby South Liberty County, the college serves a geographic area of more than 220,000 residents that includes 14 independent school districts. To learn more, visit www.lee.edu.